top of page
  • Lilia McDonald

Track of the Week: "Cause I'm A Man" by Tame Impala



Rewinding back to my senior year in high school, #Tame #Impala stepped into my life through the #MuchMusic channel and presented a bizarre music video assembled with #puppets. At the time, I viewed them as the Bee Gees on LSD surrounding themselves with #psychedelic whirs, twinkles and blurs. "Cause I'm A Man" follows a mellow R&B flow and swinging bass line, both of which integrate smoothly with the slow, rhythmic drums. In some parts, I could even imagine Childish Gambino taking a spin on this track with a Redbone-esque style.


#Kevin #Parker is the leading maestro behind this premiere single from Tame Impala's third album, Currents. He wrote, recorded, produced, mixed, and performed this track in Australia, his home country. Parker is the jack of all trades achieving a euphoric sound to meet halfway with the song's roaring message of human imperfection. As the chorus beams: "Cause I'm a man, woman / Don't always think before I do / Cause I'm a man, woman / That's the only answer I've got for you," Parker blames his masculinity for having pride dissuade him from admitting his faults.


"Cause I'm A Man" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hefh9dFnChY) is a remarkably transparent experience, and Parker is the man to deliver.




12 views0 comments
bottom of page