top of page
  • Lilia McDonald

Track of the Week: "Old Town Road" [Remix] by Lil Nas X Feat. Billy Ray Cyrus



"I'm gonna take my horse to the old town road / I'm gonna ride 'til I can't no more." I'm gonna write and hype this single 'til I grow old, I'm gonna do this since they deserve it. Lil Nas X made the right choice in featuring #Billy #Ray #Cyrus on this country-rap track, the established country singer responsible for having "Achy Breaky Heart" and "I Want My Mullet Back" dominate Cyrus's track record for lord knows how long. With "Old Town Road," I was thrown for a loop as Cyrus lassoed my focus with his casual, drawling tone in the hook then with his unexpected bars in the third verse.


"Old Town Road" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ysFgElQtjI) presents itself as a hybrid track merging country and rap together, two music genres often viewing each other with opposition. Lil Nas X opens up to country music culture while placing his hip-hop roots on full display by referencing material goods through lyrics like "you can whip your Porsche," "cowboy hat from Gucci," and "diamond rings and Fendi sports bras."


#Lil #Nas #X comments that "it started with a loner cowboy kind of vibe" as he describes feeling as an outlaw in his hometown. Between parents and everyone else dashing his music career aspirations and pushing him to follow the straight and narrow path towards success, this led to Lil Nas X having "#Old #Town #Road" in his corner - waving around in everybody's faces, proud to be building clout. It's been a long time coming for an outlaw like Lil Nas X who is more than outstanding.



16 views0 comments
bottom of page