top of page
  • Lilia McDonald

Track of the Week: "Donna" by Ritchie Valens

I'm a sappy hopeful #romantic falling utterly in love with a song whose name being addressed is, depressingly, not my own. Heck, I'd give my left kidney to be somebody's #Donna.


#Ritchie #Valens, 1950's American-Mexican singer, happens to be the musical genius behind this starry hit. His gentle yet aching voice has the strange ability to make my heart float and sink all at once. True romance may feel deadened or even nonexistent nowadays, but this 50's classic reminds us that love is still present if only we go out and search for it with hearts wide open.


Fun fact: Valens wrote this song for his high school girlfriend, Donna Ludwig. "Oh, Donna" is one lucky woman to be A-side's gold treasure to the equally excitable "La Bamba." As one listens tenderly to Valens's teenage #love #ballad, the lyrics such as, "'Cause I love my girl / Donna, where can you be?" can be found playing just about anywhere to this day. As a side note, I should mention that the recent number of replays for "Donna" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HMcHbh6HBDk) on Spotify were probably mainly streamed by yours truly. You're welcome, Ritchie Valens.



1,579 views0 comments
bottom of page